This heat is crazy, my bass strings are screwed.

My original plan as my husband and mother in law were out last night, was to get in some much needed bass practice then watch a movie. Unfortunately thanks to the insane heat I was so exhausted and boiling that I couldn’t focus on anything. So both those plans went out of the window and I just laid on the bed listening to Lazaretto [That Black Bat Licorice, addictive tune, Jack White sir, you have done it again.] and Rage Against The Machine’s Killing in the Name Of to see if I could still play it.

After decided to practice for a short while today, it turns out, I can’t play that song anymore. Crap. I was getting some Pixies practice in [Vamos & Gigantic in case you’re wondering] and my bass kept making this godawful buzzing noise which was really putting me off. So I’ve had to put that down for now until I can get some new strings cause it usually buzzes when my strings have been on waaaay too long. I’m after getting some Rotosound Jazz strings though so I might have to wait a while cause they’re around 30 quid a packet. One of the downsides to being a bass player is ridiculously priced strings. I could possibly find some cheaper but you also want decent quality. I’ve never gotten along with Ernie Ball and I’m pretty sure my last pack were Rotosound and I really like those but the jazz strings are supposedly a little more flexible so I want to try them out. Hopefully it will be worth the money.

I’ve put a bid on eBay for a Wesley bass because someone in my old hometown is selling one for 50 pounds [normally I’d put the signs in but my laptop doesn’t appear to have a pound key] collection only. I’m going up there to visit family in a few weeks so I emailed the seller before bidding and they didn’t at all mind me coming to pick it up in a week or so while I’m down there so that should be fun. It’s completely see through it looks awesome. Hopefully it will sound as good as it looks, if not, eh, I’ll change the pickups it’s cool.

This should be fun!

Leave a comment